Fairmont United Methodist Church • Raleigh NC

a mission-oriented community

Refugia Faith by Debra Rienstra

Refugia Faith by Debra Rienstra

Via Zoom (Noon time) study – Mondays, Starting March 6th– March 27.

All are welcome to join in on our weekly group discussion.

Click here to join zoom meeting
Meeting ID: 817 2513 7097
Passcode: 549771

Facilitated by Richard Loeppert (This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it. Richard to receive a study guide)

Refugia Faith – Seeking Hidden Shelters, Ordinary Wonders, and the Healing of the Earth
by Debra Rienstra Fortress Press (2022)

This book explores how Christian spirituality and practice must adapt to prepare for life on a climate-altered planet.

Refugia (reh-FU-jee-ah) is a biological term describing places of shelter where life endures in times of crisis, such as a volcanic eruption, fire, or stressed climate. Ideally, these refugia endure, expand, and connect so that new life emerges.

Debra Rienstra applies this concept to human culture and faith, asking, In this era of ecological devastation, how can Christians become people of refugia? How can we find and nurture these refugia, not only in the biomes of the earth, but in our human cultural systems and in our spiritual lives? How can we apply all our love and creativity to this task as never before?

Rienstra recounts her own process of reeducation — beginning not as a scientist or an outdoors enthusiast but by examining the wisdom of theologians and philosophers, farmers and nature writers, scientists and activists, and especially people on the margins.

By weaving nature writing, personal narrative, and theological reflection, Rienstra grapples honestly with her own fears and longings and points toward a way forward — a way to transform Christian spirituality and practice, become a healer on a damaged earth, and inspire others to do the same.

March 6

  • Introduction (The Great Work and the Little Work)
  • Chapter 1 (From Despair to Preparation)

March 13

  • Chapter 2 (From Alienation to Kinship)
  • Chapter 3 (From Consuming to Healing)

March 20

  • Chapter 4 (From Avoiding to Lamenting)
  • Chapter 5 (From Resignation to Gratitude)

March 27

  • Chapter 6 (From Passivity to Citizenship)
  • Chapter 7 (From Indifference to Attention)